Brazil: Government approves concession of 12 airports in three regions

The federal government will transfer 12 airports to the private sector through a concession process. The decision. published in the Federal Official Gazette on Monday (5), was taken by the Council of the Investment Partnerships Programme of the Presidency of the Republic.

According to the resolution authorising the process, the concessions will be tendered in three blocks, one each for the Northeast, Midwest and Southeast regions. The concession period will be of 30 years for all blocks and airports.

The concession model is interesting for the country because it generates investments, creates jobs and improves services to consumers in the terminals, while allowing the government to receive a fee for each airport.

Check out the list of airports to be awarded

Northeast Block

* Recife International Airport/Guararapes – Gilberto Freyre

* Zumbi dos Palmares Airport – Maceió

* Santa Maria Airport – Aracaju

* Presidente Castro Pinto Airport – João Pessoa

* Orlando Bezerra de Menezes Airport – Juazeiro do Norte

* Presidente João Suassuna Airport – Campina Grande

Midwest Block

* Marechal Rondon Airport – Cuiabá

* Maestro Marinho Franco Airport – Rondonópolis

* Pilot Osvaldo Marques Dias Airport – Alta Floresta

* President João Batista Figueiredo Airport – Sinop

Southeast Block

* Eurico de Aguiar Salles Airport – Vitória

* Macaé Airport (SBME) – Rio de Janeiro


The Investment Partnerships Programme (PPI) was created in 2016 aiming to improve the country’s services and infrastructure through partnerships between the federal government and the private sector. In the case of airports, the concessions started in 2011, leading to increased quality and compliance with international standards. Concession contracts are inspected by the National Civil Aviation Agency (ANAC).

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *